01 Shiny Plate
02 Faint
03 Sun
04 Passport
05 Gradation and Nuance
06 Hide
07 Oh Thanks
08 Elevation Adjustment I
09 Flowers Machine
10 Early Evening Break
11 I Don’t Like That
12 Friction
13 Character
14 Flippant Illness
15 Elevation Adjustment II
16 Just Words



Sometimes by losing who we are, we remember who we are. This record loses itself  in several different fronts of music with no particular genre in mind. It rocks, it rolls, it laughs and it cries. And it echoes.

Recorded in San Antonio, Texas at Studio 1927 from 2015-2019

LH - Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keys, Drums, Samples

Lyrics, Music, Concept and Artwork by LH

Production by Thee Hef

© 2000-2019 Les Heifner


Album NOtes

Sometimes life's circumstances can have a familiar ring to them, even when they're entirely different. We each see the world through our own reality tunnels, (Robert Anton Wilson's phrasing.) From these self-invented cockpits in which we sit and live out our lives, our brains often default to the easiest setting when it comes to trying to solve problems or deal with difficulties. This album is about those "default settings" and how they're a trap. They're mechanical. They lack an authenticity and authority. They're the easy fixes in life that never work because they're too easy. If you think that's convoluted or confusing, wait till you read the rest.

During the recording of this record I was fighting through my own echoes. There's nothing wrong or unhealthy about it. In any intelligent operation whether it's a song, a business or your own brain, it makes sense to stop every now and again and figure out what the hell is going on. Otherwise, anxiety builds and branches out into all the little things one does. These are the beginnings of mechanical echoes in one sense. I was forcing as much emotion as I could into these tracks because I was breaking down.

Mechanical Echoes features two parts essentially.  Tracks 1-8 weave a complex web of hard rock, pop and dare I say a bit of R&B influence? It ends with an instrumental guitar piece called Elevation Adjustment I. Musically, the first half just coverered so much ground that I needed a way to level myself out before continuing. The album continues with the second half weaving an entirely different type of web. The album ends first with Elevation Adjustment II, and our spree of mechanical echoes have dissipated from the ground through the stratosphere and into the void of space, while we've been brought back to the ground. The finale, Just Words takes us through those mechanical moments, and attempts to shock them out of us. That's essentially what the whole album is attempting to do.

Breaking free of mechanical behaviors can be quite benefitial for some. For others, it can be their only mode of survival. But no one should despair. We can always begin again and attempt to live our lives with intention, so as to improve the quality of the time we have on Earth. No matter what, we'll be hearing those echoes coming from all around us. May we all become more intentional and less mechanical. 

- LH
January, 2019

Special Thanks to Megan, Karen, Avery, Bobby and good ole' Charlie Brown's.