Between Floods - Album by Les Heifner


01 Take Me Away
02 Running Low
03 Why
04 Illumination
05 The Blanco River
06 More Moving On
07 Goin' Crackers
08 Circulation at Night
09 Conquistadors
10 Moving Around
11 Revealed
12 The Sound of Nothing
13 More Moving On
14 Tearing Branches
15 Another Sappy Ballad
16 The Olsen Twins



Between a beginning and end are many beginnings and ends, as is the case with this almost psychodelic record, Between Floods. Moving from the progressive, math-rock sound of The Norm to a more relaxed rock environment. Hmmm. Not really.

Recorded in San Antonio, Texas at Studio 1927 from 2017 to 2018.

LH - Vocals, Guitar, Keys, Bass, Drums

Lyrics, Music, Concept and Artwork by LH

Production by Thee Hef

© 2002-2019 Les Heifner


Album NOtes

Inconvenience and hazard can provide some extra push to get through to the next section of a song, or finish a record. The environment in which you conceive the ideas can make a difference. Having moved from Dallas to San Marcos, Texas in mid-summer of 2001, I found myself with new friends, new sentiments and new disasters waiting to happen. In the previous year I had virtually completed a couple of very complex electronic music with guitar. Perhaps one day the world may be ready for “Observations” and “Declarations,” but I know that I’m not ready to release them to any buying public at this point in time. I came to the same conclusion after some basic “no” votes from people I respected. The albums were seen as perhaps convoluted or just “too crazy.” So I adjusted my sensors.

San Marcos was a much more laid back environment than Dallas. I was finally starting to tune myself with that laid back mentality in a musical sense when I started this record.

All of sudden I had new friends who had stuff they wanted me to hear. They were surely surprised that much of the music they grew up on had been avoided specifically by me. I had my discriminations and opinions about what certain bands meant just because of their associations with people I knew in the past. “I won’t listen to that band because (insert name) listens to that and that person is an idiot.” That attitude had provided just enough separation that when I got to San Marcos, I was able to appreciate so much more music that I previously shut out. In some cases, this meant making a compromise with myself. I would allow myself to play “blues licks” as long as they weren’t mechanical or habitual.

There was an old and not so nice, but cozy concrete house on River Road in San Marcos, Texas. I had moved in around November 1st, which gave me exactly two weeks to get some ideas down. November 15th of 2001 brought historic flooding to the area, and I became instantly homeless. We’d spend the night at Motel 6, with my roommate’s family or with other friends. Often I’d just brave the cold and stay at the house. Using a single orange extension cable from the house next door, I’d plug up a desk lamp, a space heater and my monstrous (for those times) computer. Often I’d volunteer to stay at the house alone, while my roommate David stayed elsewhere. This allowed me time and room to get some of these tracks right.

Once the trailer he purchased with FEMA money arrived I moved back and forth between the trailer and the house to write and record demos of these tracks. I remember being really low on energy and purposely saving energy throughout the day in order to get it right in night time recordings. Some of these tracks were in the works well before the Blanco River charged its way up into that concrete house at 2104 River Road. Little did I know, another flood was coming in June of 2002, which would knock us out of that house permanently. Eventually I'd end up putting my music on hold, more or less, until early Summer of 2003 when I moved into an apartment on the square in San Marcos, Texas. I met Artist/Bassist Bret Nix, Drummer Jim Watson and I already knew Bassist Todd Landrum. The days of Holding 1 were coming. The family who owned the property in San Marcos had the concrete house demolished eventually. Those "historic" floods that affected so many of us in Central Texas, at the time, were only just beginning. So this album, originally titled "Before the Flood," during the demo process, is justifiably changed to Between Floods. Oh, the metaphors.

Upon picking this material back up recently for the first time in so long, I realized that Between Floods is an absolutely representative document of what life looked like and felt like at the time. Alien, but the same, somehow, in some sense. 

- Les Heifner January 2019

Special thanks to the Wisian Family.