01 Surface Temperature
02 Below The Suitcase
03 The Wide Range
04 Dreaded Sunrise
05 Wrong Door Wrong House
06 Bite
07 Median
08 Experiment #2
09 Leaning Forward
10 Truly Visible
11 Bret's Ballad
12 Soundscape off Mirrors
13 Dumptruck of Power



While it may not be the most relaxing ambient album in the LH catalog, it most certainly is the first, chronologically. The most experimental of Les's ambient releases, Destabilization is sure to terrify even the most experienced listeners.

Recorded in San Antonio, Texas at Studio 1927 during 2017, 2018 and 2019.

LH - Vocals, Guitar, Keys, Bass, Drums

Lyrics, Music, Concept and Artwork by LH

Production by Thee Hef

© 2004-2019 Les Heifner


Album NOtes

Fresh off of some unexpectedly successful Holding 1 shows in late 2003 and early 2004, the rock we were cranking out led to new musical avenues being explored. I used my off-time to write songs that were along the lines of a rock trio. We were playing with other local San Marcos bands like Chagrin, Johnny Gobbs and Turbo Dwarf. Seeing these groups play every week changed my understanding of what was necessary to keep things interesting musically.

The excitement of the time led to some explosive musical moments, some more cohesive than others. The miserable track “What Was I Thinking” was origininally slated to appear on this release as self-punishment, as a rare reminder of what can happen when one fully dedicates oneself to a musical venture, even though it isn’t very good.

For the sake of the listener I've reserved that tradition for more worthy hogwash. There’s likely to be one track that utterly embarrasses me and makes me cringe. I sometimes keep these tracks as a reminder that I could be writing those all the time. This track wasn’t worthy of that tradition.

Other tracks on this record follow that tradition, but I won't say which ones.

- LH
January, 2019

Special Thanks to San Marcos of 2004